Twitter announced that it will delete users who have not logged into their account for more than 6 months. Usernames for accounts removed from the platform can be retrieved by others.
The company sent an email to people who had not used their Twitter accounts for more than 6 months and warned them that the account would be permanently deleted from the platform if the account was not logged in before December 11th. The deleted account’s username could also be retrieved by other users for reuse in the email sent.
A Twitter official said in a statement:
Twitter has not yet provided a clear date for when usernames for deleted accounts will be released. The process of deleting inactive accounts will take months, the company said, adding that it is not possible to announce usernames for deleted accounts on December 11th.